OH Learning.com - advancing occupational hygiene worldwide.

Members of the Advisory Committee

Providing constructive challenge to the Board in an advisory and support role

The Advisory Committee offers advice and support, providing constructive challenge to the Board and complementing Board skills. All Advisory Committee members have knowledge and experience of IH/OH work globally and a demonstrable interest in the objectives and work of OHTA. The Advisory Committee is jointly chaired by Michel Crépeau and Shamini Samuel. 

Mr Michel Crépeau, BSc, CIH, ROH, CHSC

Michel J. Crépeau is Regional Manager with Total Safety Services Inc. in Burnaby, BC. He has over 35 years of local, national and international experience in occupational hygiene. Michel is currently co-chair of the OHTA Advisory Committee, a former President the Canadian Registration Board of Occupational Hygienists, and a former Director of the American Board of Industrial Hygiene. Michel has also served on several boards of local IH/OH associations and was CRBOH Chief Oral Examiner for many years.

Ms Shamini Samuel, P.E., CIH, CSP, ROH

Shamini Samuel currently serves as Industrial Hygiene & Env. Compliance Manager for Suncor Energy Services Inc., Canada. Shamini has 20 years of professional, technical and management experience in the environmental health and safety field, with a focus on industrial hygiene, environmental compliance reporting, risk and exposure assessments, exposure assessments. She has worked in an array of industries, including consulting to Governmental, Industrial and Institutional organizations in the Asia Pacific and Northern America. Shamini has previously contributed to the Board of Directors of the American Board of Industrial Hygiene (ABIH), and currently serves as Past President and Director of the Canadian Registration Board of Occupational Hygienists.

Mr Sven Hoffmann, Program Manager, MAS Work+Health

Sven Hoffmann is currently Program Manager of the Swiss MAS Work+Health at the University of Zurich and University of Lausanne. He is an occupational hygienist, chartered workplace ergonomist (CREE) and an officer for disaster risk reduction in the Swiss humanitarian aid unit. His further academic education/training includes Risk & Crisis Communication, Didactics and Hazmat life support. His Board experience includes the European Association of Schools of Occupational Medicine (EASOM), the Swiss Ergonomics Association (SwissErgo) and the Centre of Registration of European Ergonomists (CREE). 

Mr Peter-John Jacobs, ROH

Former president of the Southern African Institute for Occupational Hygienists (SAIOH),  Mr Jacobs has spent the last 10 years working in occupational hygiene in the mining and energy industries. He now works as a consultant for Sedulitas. He is president-elect of IOHA and also the SAIOH representative on IOHA’s National Accreditation Recognition (NAR) Committee.

Ms Ruth Jimenez Saavedra MSc MBA LFOH

Ruth Jimenez Saavedra is the current President of the Spanish Association of Industrial Hygiene and Secretary/Treasurer of the International Occupational Hygiene Association. She has wide experience in Occupational Hygiene in the UK and Spain and was a member of the OHTA Leadership Group until April 2015. She participates in several working groups in the European Commission, the National Commission for Health and Safety at Work and national and European standardisation bodies. For the last six years she has been working at the Spanish National Institute for Health and Safety at Work managing projects on chemicals, nanomaterials, exposure modelling, control banding tools, REACH and CLP. She has also been a visiting lecturer at several Universities in Spain, Italy, Peru, Portugal. 

Mr Mark Katchen, CIH, FAIHA

Founder and Managing Principal at The Phylmar Group, Inc., Mr Katchen has more than 35 years of experience in industrial hygiene, environmental and occupational health, toxicology, risk communication, and international business management. He is Chair of the OHTA Scholarships Committee, Chair of the Joint Industrial Hygiene Ethics Education Committee, Past Chair of the AIHA International Affairs Committee and has extensive international experience.   

Mr Terry McDonald CFFOH

Terry McDonald is a retired academic specialising in developing and running distance learning BSc and MSc programmes in Occupational Hygiene and Occupational Health and Safety. He is a Fellow of the Faculty of Occupational Hygiene, a Chartered Occupational Hygienist, a qualified ergonomist and a retired Chartered Safety Practitioner. He also served as the Faculty of Occupational Hygiene Chief Examiner before retiring. He was a founder member of OHTA management team and was responsible for designing and setting up the OHTA examination and qualification scheme. 

Dr Deborah Nelson, CIH 

Dr Nelson is currently President of the American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA). A former professor at the University of Oklahoma, she has held various senior management IH/OH regulatory roles within organisations such as the US Environmental Protection Agency, the Geological Society of America, and most recently the US Department of Agriculture, Veterinary Services.

Mr Bert Schiller, CIH 

Mr Schiller is Adjunct Professor for the University of Michigan graduate programme in Industrial Hygiene. He is the founder of Bert Schiller & Associates, a consultancy in Michigan. Previous experience includes Michigan OSHA and the Fireman’s Fund Insurance Company.   

Dr Jas Singh, CIH    CEO, JAS International, LLC

Dr Jaswant (Jas) Singh has practised Occupational Hygiene for the past five decades, 43 of those years as a Certified Industrial Hygienist (CIH) by the American Board of Industrial Hygiene (ABIH).  For the past 15 years, he has focused mainly on International OH issues providing consulting services in dozens of Asian and Middle Eastern countries in addition to his assignments in the USA.

Dr Singh has served as a director of the American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA) and ABIH, and as president of the Academy of Industrial Hygiene. His current focus is on teaching Industrial Hygiene in the Middle East and African countries.


Mr Alex TSE Chun Kuen, CIH, RPH

Mr TSE is the Programme Director for the Open University of Hong Kong. He is a member of the RPH Registration and Examination Board and Honorary Advisor of the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health (Hong Kong Branch).  He was a former chair of the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health (Hong Kong Branch). He has more than 20 years of solid experience in occupational hygiene, occupational safety and environmental protection in higher education institutes. 

Dr David M Zalk, CIH, MPH, FAIHA

A former president of IOHA and current IOHA envoy to the World Health Organisation (WHO), Dr Zalk has assisted in the founding of various global outreach efforts. He has been chair of many IH/OH Committees within AIHA and the American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienists (ACGIH). A Director of Occupational Hygiene for the GPOHP Online Course at the University of Illinois at Chicago, Dr Zalk is also a Deputy Team Leader for ES & H at the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory.   

Advisory Committee

  • Michel Crépeau
  • Shamini Samuel
  • Sven Hoffmann
  • Peter-John Jacobs
  • Ruth Jimenez
  • Mark Katchen
  • Terry McDonald
  • Deborah Nelson
  • Bert Schiller
  • Jas Singh
  • Alex TSE Chun Kuen
  • David M Zalk